Northern Virginia Technology Council Congratulates 2015 Greater Washington Technology CFO Award Winners

On June 8, more than 750 people gathered at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner for the 19th Annual NVTC Greater Washington Technology CFO Awards. The CFO Awards recognize local chief financial officers and financiers for outstanding achievement and excellence in promoting the area's technology community. NVTC Chair Sudhakar Kesavan set the stage by welcoming attendees to the evening's festivities. Deloitte & Touche LLP was the platinum sponsor of the CFO Awards and event chair Gary Tabach served as master of ceremonies.

During the awards gala, April Young was honored with the Michael G. Devine Hall of Fame Award for her lifetime contributions to our region's technology business community and the following winners were announced.

Winners from the 2015 CFO Awards.
The winners of the NVTC 2015 Greater Washington Technology CFO Awards. From left: Bas Brukx of Clarabridge, Emerging Growth CFO of the Year; Rebecca “Becky” Stahl of Lightbridge Communications Corporation, Private Company CFO of the Year; April Young of Hercules Technology Growth Capital, Michael G. Devine Hall of Fame Honoree; MC Gary Tabach of Deloitte; Cathy Graham of 2U Inc., Public Company CFO of the Year; and Nick Gillette and Aaron Pollock, representatives from SWaN & Legend Venture Partners, who were collectively honored with the Financier of the Year award.

Financier of the Year: SWaN & Legend Venture Partners – SWaN & Legend Venture Partners invests in companies that are building engaging brands, worthy of consumers’ passions, across a number of industries, as well as the B2B companies that support them. The SWaN & Legend team is partial to transformative organizations and looks to be active and influential in the companies in which they invest, providing guidance, support, resources and confidence to the teams. The firm takes pride in utilizing its professionals’ experience, energy and deep network of friends and partners to continue to build high-growth businesses. The firm is led by Fredrick D. Schaufeld, Anthony Nader, David Bosserman and Todd Klein.

Private Company CFO of the Year: Rebecca Stahl, Lightbridge Communications Corporation – Rebecca (Becky) Stahl is Lightbridge Communications Corporation’s (LCC) CFO. Prior to this position, Stahl held management positions of increased levels of responsibility since her arrival in August 2007. Stahl joined LCC from BT Infonet, where she was manager of financial planning before working as the senior director of finance and administration. Prior to that, Stahl served as a financial analyst in The Walt Disney Company corporate planning group. Stahl is a CPA, and earned an MBA degree from the University of California Los Angeles, with an emphasis in finance. Stahl earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from the Pennsylvania State University.

Emerging Growth CFO of the Year: Bas Brukx, Clarabridge – With his background in financial and operational planning in high tech companies, Bas Brukx is steering Clarabridge through high growth and positioning the company for future success. Brukx served as vice president of financial planning and analysis at Vocus. He also held financial management positions at Nexchange, WorldPort Communications and MCI Worldcom. Brukx fondly remembers a customer service interaction via Twitter: the company asked him to call their service line, but he replied “Why don’t you call me?” And they did!

Public Company CFO of the Year: Cathy Graham, 2U – Cathy Graham brings more than 25 years of experience in senior financial roles, largely in technology and technology-enabled companies. Her experience includes leading three successful IPOs, raising more than $150 million in private equity and closing numerous strategic acquisitions and organizational sales. Prior to joining 2U, she was CFO for Online Resources Corporation and VIA NET.WORKS Inc. Prior to VIA NET.WORKS, she was vice president of finance and the investor relations officer for Yurie Systems, and headed the transition team after the sale of that company to Lucent Technologies. Graham holds an MBA from Loyola University Maryland.

Michael G. Devine Hall of Fame Award: April Young – April Young is a managing director in Hercules Technology Growth Capital’s McLean, Virginia office. Among her many instrumental roles, Young held high level positions at MMVF, the Mid-Atlantic Technology and Life Sciences division with Comerica Bank, the Potomac KnowledgeWay Project and the George Mason University’s Institute for Public Policy. Young also has served as director of a number of professional organizations. In addition, she co-founded Mindshare, an invitation-only program for CEOs of early-stage companies. Young holds a Ph.D. in public policy and administration from Saint Louis University and a B.A. and a masters in urban and regional planning from The George Washington University.

Congratulations and thank you to all the 2015 CFO Award finalists:

Public Company CFO of the Year
Cathy Graham
, 2U
Thomas Kramer, Opower
Garrett Pierce, Orbital ATK
Cynthia Russo, MICROS Systems

Private Company CFO of the Year
Aaron Daniels
, Cognosante
Joe Donohue, Agilex Technologies
Michael Provenzano, Virtustream
Jim Reagan, Vencore
Rich Sawchak, Novetta Solutions
Rebecca Stahl, Lightbridge Communications Corporation

Emerging Growth CFO of the Year
Bas Brukx
, Clarabridge
Philip R. Chase, Next Tier Concepts
Chris Hoyt, APX Labs
Luke Leininger, Avizia
Pat McCoy, ScienceLogic Inc.
Robert Richards, National Technologies Associates

Financier of the Year
Steve Graubart
, 1776
Joel Kallett, Clearsight Advisors
Jean Stack, Houlihan Lokey
SWaN & Legend Venture Partners

Michael G. Devine Hall of Fame Honoree:
April Young
, Hercules Technology Growth Capital